Policy Statements

Freedom to Vote Act a Transformative Bill 

National Council of Jewish Women
2055 L Street, NW, Suite 650
Washington, DC 20036 

WASHINGTON – Today, Senators Amy Klobuchar, Tim Kaine, Angus King, Joe Manchin, Jeff Merkley, Alex Padilla, Jon Tester, and Raphael Warnock introduced the Freedom to Vote Act, the next step toward realizing the promise of democracy for all. National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) Chief Policy Officer Jody Rabhan released the following statement: 

“National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) advocates have worked for more than 125 years to expand and protect the right to vote. Today’s introduction of the Freedom to Vote Act is the next chapter in this work. We welcome this transformational legislation, which would make it easier to cast a ballot and counter state voter suppression laws.  

“Our democracy is strongest when it reflects the diversity of its people. We look forward to working with lawmakers to ensure that the Freedom to Vote Act is as strong as possible so all our voices can be heard.”  

# # # 

National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is a grassroots organization of 200,000 volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms. Through a program of education, community service, education, and advocacy, our advocates across the country create lasting social change on our key issues of the federal courts; reproductive health, rights, and justice, and voter engagement. More information on Facebook and on Twitter at @NCJW. 


More News and Updates